Breaking News

What is a horoscope?

The universe holds a lot of information about you and your life! A horoscope is an astrological ‘reading’ of this information. Horoscopes tell us about the influence of the relative positions of the sun, moon, stars and planets at a specific time and their effect on human actions and destiny. In other words these factors can be analysed to describe and understand personality traits and events in any human’s life. How you choose to interpret and incorporate your horoscope on these pages into your life is completely up to you. Some will use it as mere entertainment while others will look for career-advice, a deeper understanding of their unconscious self, or other people’s personality traits, to become aware of gifts and vulnerable sides, and maybe even strengthen relationships with family, friends, colleagues, and romantic partners.

What is Astrology?

Some compare astrology to yoga, acupuncture, feng shui, and other ancient theories and studies of energy patterns. And although astrology has been called “The mother of all sciences” it seems more appropriate to describe it as a study of metaphysics rather than an actual science in modern terms, as it is in fact a study of that beyond the physical; motions patterns in the universe in relation to time, place and the four elements (fire, air, water and earth).

The 12 signs of the zodiac – Find your star sign!

Each calendar year represents 12 signs of the zodiac (or star signs in everyday speech). All the signs individually represent a specific time within a year – based on the rotation of the Earth and the movement and positions of the sun, moon and planets – and your star sign is determined by your birth date. In astrology the 12 constellations of the zodiac are visualised on a 360-degree scale (shown as twelve individual sections on the scale). Certain human characteristics are associated with each of the 12 star signs. Read more about all of the 12 constellations of the zodiac here.

The 4 elements: Fire, Air, Water, Earth

The four elements of the universe – fire, air, water, and earth – are also of great importance within astrology and reading of horoscopes. Each of the elements represents certain personality traits and has an influence on the human psyche. Each of the 12 star signs individually have a strong emphasis on one of the elements.

Fire signs: Aries, Leo, and Sagittarius. Personality traits: Playful, impulsive, spontaneous, instant emotional response.

Air signs: Libra, Aquarius, and Gemini. Personality traits: Energetic and vivid, tend to intellectualise feelings and expectations.

Water signs: Cancer, Scorpio, and Pisces. Personality traits: Sensitive, deep and rich emotional life.

Earth signs: Capricorn, Taurus, and Virgo. Personality traits: Laid-back, consistent and hesitant to change.

Why read horoscopes?

Personal horoscopes – also called birth horoscopes – are very complex and based on a diagram (also known as an astrological chart) showing the exact positions of the sun, moon, stars and planets (when looking at the universe from planet Earth) at the exact time of your birth. These calculations and readings are naturally more detailed and therefore more likely to be accurate than the overall horoscopes you will find on these pages. Only a trained astrologer will be able to give you personal advice based on a lot of individual details. Obviously not everyone born under the same star sign will have the exact same personality and face the same events in life on the same day or even month. However, in a grand scheme of things you are more likely to have some characteristics, preferences and challenges in common with people born under the same star sign as you, compared to those with a different star sign - and a lot of people find reading the daily, weekly and monthly horoscopes both useful and entertaining.

Latest horoscopes